Jan. 19, 2013 — A new eye on things

Years ago, I saw my first HD television set. It was a French Open tennis match, and the picture was, frankly, awful. The ball would disappear from view when traveling in the air.

Since the Telecommunications Act of 1996 would mandate digital television signals by June. 13 2009, I’ve known that the time would come that I would need a new TV set. I’ve been doing the research, especially since the prices of them have been dropping the last few months.

So many entries in an alphabet soup of choices, so many features, so many choices.

Thursday, I settled on a refurbished model that received a four-star rating from Amazon users. Despite using the gift card given me a month ago, my net cost was still more than the combined cost of last four TV’s I’ve owned.

But even with the new quirks of owning a high-definition television set (which cable goes where? can I run the game console through the DVD recorder?), there are some advantages. I’ll be able to watch video from the computer on the big screen. I’ll be able to play video through a USB port on the back.

Of course, the ultimate test in this is going to be viewing a field hockey or lacrosse game in HD. Will the TV be able to track the 2-inch ball on the screen?

Thus far, from what I’ve seen thus far, the picture is marginally better, but it’s going to take a few more tweaks in order to get the full effect.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 719 other followers

