Serving the scholastic field hockey and lacrosse community since 1998

Archive for December 13, 2006

Dec. 13, 2006 — Good groups

The National Field Hockey Coaches’ Association released their six Regional Coaches of the Year, from which one will be selected National Coach of the Year in Baltimore in about three weeks.

It’s a good group:

Robin Chandler, Lakeville Hotchkiss School (Conn.)

Linda Krieser, Hummelstown Lower Dauphin (Pa.)

Diane Chapman, Garden City (N.Y.)

Maura Sullivan, Dedham Nobles and Greenough School (Mass.)

Julie Swain, Virginia Beach Frank W. Cox (Va.)

Liz Lewis, Louisville Sacred Heart (Ky.)

And as it turns out, the nominees for this site’s United States Coach of the Year does have one overlapper with the NFHCA’s nominees (which, it must be said, are limited to the membership of the organization).

Other things must be noted here, however. The teams represented amongst the six NFHCA award-winning coaches amassed 128 wins, two losses, and three draws in 2006. Five of the teams finished finished in the top dozen in the final national Top 50; the sixth, Nobles & Greenough, was unranked.

Which begs the question: does a winning record, success in tournament play, or winning a championship befit a Coach of the Year, no matter how big or small the pool from which the choice is made?

Remember this website’s criteria: “The award should be given to a coach who is able to make a marked difference in the way a team plays throughout a particular season. The coaching performance is not limited to progress made in the year which the award is given.”

No doubt, it’s going to be a difficult choice.