TopOfTheCircle.com

Serving the scholastic field hockey and lacrosse community since 1998

Archive for September 25, 2011

Sept. 25, 2011 — Spinning to infinity

Last night, Dana Bozek, an eighth-grader playing on the Shrub Oak Lakeland (N.Y.) junior varsity team, had a goal and an assist zero seconds apart.

Yep, zero. But it was not on the same play.

It’s something that may have happened in a varsity game or a JV game sometime in the last 110 years of field hockey in the United States, but it’s something your Founder hasn’t seen or heard of before.

Lakeland’s Emily Power scored a goal off a Bozek assist at the 47:28 mark of last night’s JV game against Darien. But the Darien bench, in making an appeal to the umpires to ask whether the ball was outside of the striking circle when it was shot, called a timeout.

Turns out, Darien had used its two timeouts before then. By rule, a penalty stroke was awarded to Lakeland, and Bozek buried it.

Because no time expires during a stroke (and the teams were not playing running-time halves like they usually do in JV matches), the Power and Bozek goals occurred during the same second of the game.

Theoretically, it is possible for a player to get a hat trick in the same second of a game if a goal is scored, then a third timeout is taken by an appealing coach, then if that coach is sent off (at least, under current NCAA rules).

That got me thinking — does a team’s statistics get skewed if a coach uses specialists to either take or defend penalty strokes? What did it do for a player like Christina Restivo, who was at one time the University of Maryland’s designated goalkeeper for defending strokes, or Princeton’s Kate Fox, who was the Tigers’ designated stroke taker?

It does make you wonder.