Serving the scholastic field hockey and lacrosse community since 1998

Dec. 4, 2015 — Region of the Year, 2015

The Region of the Year is awarded to a defined area of the American scholastic field hockey map. It can be a league, a city, a geographic region, a county, a section defined by a state governing body, or an entire state.

About 15 miles due west from Lower Manhattan sits the town of Summit, N.J. The town has only about 21,000 people, but this year had an outsized influence on the game of field hockey within the state.

As the week of Nov. 8 began, there were 20 teams still playing in the New Jersey State Interscholastic Athletic Association postseason. Three of these teams — Kent Place School, Oak Knoll School of the Holy Child, and Summit High School — were located in the town of Summit.

Now, many of you who have read this site know about how well Oak Knoll has done the last few years. They have been more of a match for the likes of Voorhees Eastern (N.J.) and have beaten them twice in the NJSIAA Tournament of Champions.

But Summit High School is also well-known as a giant-killer — but in lacrosse. It was in 1999 when the Liza Hillenbrand-led team upset Moorestown (N.J.) for the state championship which, at the time, was an all-comers championship regardless of size.

Kent Place School has recently amped up its game by the addition of Leslie DeSimone, a former member of the Oak Knoll coaching staff, as its head coach. DeSimone played a couple of years under Beth Anders at Old Dominion before transferring to Hofstra University. Kent Place may not have had the historical successes of its neighbors within Summit, but the Dragons’ best days are ahead of them.

Summit joins a number of winners selected by this site in the past:

2015: Summit, N.J.
2014: CIF Central Coast Section, Calif.
2013: VHSL North, Va.
2012: New Jersey
2011: Lancaster-Lebanon League, Pa.
2010: No award
2009: No award
2008: CIF San Diego Section, Calif.
2007: PIAA District 4, Pa.
2006: Winston-Salem, N.C.
2005: Louisville, Ky.
2004: Kent and Sussex County, Del.
2003: PIAA District 2, Pa.
2002: North Carolina
2001: Lancaster County, Pa.
2000: Cecil County, Md.
1999: PIAA District 3, Pa.
1998: Maryland
1997: CIF San Diego Section, Calif.
1996: Hunterdon and Warren County, N.J.


No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: