TopOfTheCircle.com

Serving the scholastic field hockey and lacrosse community since 1998

Jan. 1, 2016 — Wishes and hopes for 2016

Happy New Year, everyone.

We begin the year with some hopes for the year to come in life and in sport.

I hope that the WNBA makes an aggressive push to become more than just a secondary playground for European and Australian basketball circuits.

I hope the NWSL does the same in soccer.

I hope the U.S. women’s national soccer team makes the aggressive changes needed to remain great not only this summer at the Olympics, but going beyond this year.

I wish the slow drip of indictments in the FIFA scandal would become a full flood.

And I hope that there is going to be an infrastructure to help the sport along when FIFA collapses.

I hope the U.S. women’s field hockey team is able to medal at the Rio Olympics. It is a good team capable of beating teams in the top five.

I wish the best of luck to the group of players who are threatening to rewrite the scoring record books, and that they know that they need to keep improving themselves.

I hope that the success of the Canadian U-19s at last year’s World Cup doesn’t decimate the collegiate system north of the border the way that CIS field hockey has been raided over the last 20 years.

I wish that the vast sums of money that are being spent in order to win the Presidency would be redirected to improve health and physical education in public schools, or to help fund a professional women’s sports league.

I hope people achieving greatness in a sport realize that they stand on the shoulders of those who came before them.

I hope the UWLX has a superb first season and will get some television coverage that will be easy to access by the average fan.

I wish the current crop of high-school seniors good health as they transition to the next level.

I hope to see not just one, but a series of great matchups between the Northwestern and Maryland women’s lacrosse teams. Something tells me this is going to be the fulcrum on which the entire lacrosse world turns this spring.

Finally, I wish good health to each of you, my readers. And I hope to see some of you around the playing fields of America in the coming year.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

