Serving the scholastic field hockey and lacrosse community since 1998

Archive for June 22, 2016

June 22, 2016 — United States Coach of the Year, the nominees

The United States Coach of the Year Award is given to a head coach or co-head coaches who made a marked difference in the performance of a scholastic girls’ lacrosse team in a particular season. The coaching performance is not limited to progress made in the year which the award is given.

Here are this year’s nominees:

Al Bertoleone, Mount Sinai (N.Y.) –Mustangs had a lot to prove after last year’s dream season, and hit a tough patch in mid-season. But the mettle of this team showed down the stretch, winning six games of margins of two goals or fewer on the way to a second straight Class C title

Shelly Brezicki, Manchester (Md.) Valley (Md.) — Coached the Mustangs, in only their seventh season, to a third straight state championship

Liz Case, Fairfax Robinson (Va.) — Built a program in five years to one which has now won 42 out of its last 43 games, including the last two state titles

Rory Daly, Novato (Calif.) — Team defended its CIF North Coast Division I with an undefeated season and a number of underclasswomen who will have even more time to improve on their impressive numbers

Tom Flanders, Warwick Pilgrim (R.I.) — Started lacrosse program six years ago with an 0-14 record; this year won state title with 17-0 record

P.J. Kesmodel, Lewes Cape Henlopen (Del.) — In his final season as head coach before retirement, this legend gave the Vikings their eighth straight state championship

Chris Robinson, Owings Mills McDonogh (Md.) — Even with the attention of the entire nation upon his team every single game out, the Eagles managed to win every game, win the IAAM Class A title, and extend its win streak to 155

Amanda Ryan, Walton (Ga.) — After a lost weekend in mid-season against three mid-Atlantic powerhouses, the Raiders were able to respond with eight straight victories, including a state final win over favored Milton (Ga.)

Douglas Sedgwick, Syracuse Christian Brothers Academy (N.Y.) — Won third state championship in the last six years with an undefeated slate

Rick Sofield, Alexandria Bishop Ireton (Va.) — Facing perhaps the most diverse and difficult schedule ever assembled to face a high school team, managed to get his team to the state final despite graduating a star-studded senior class the year before