Serving the scholastic field hockey and lacrosse community since 1998

Dec. 9, 2016 — United States Coach of the Year, the nominees

The United States Coach of the Year Award is given to a head coach or co-head coaches who made a noticeable difference in the performance of a scholastic field hockey team in a particular season. The coaching performance is not limited to progress made in the year which the award is given.

Here are this year’s nominees:

Laurie Berger, San Diego Serra (Calif.) — Gifted attacking side set a California record for goals scored in a season, winning the Serra Invitational (where a team is obligated to play three games on consecutive Saturdays), a pair of intersectional matches, and the Open Division of the CIF San Diego Section

Sue Butz-Stavin, Emmaus (Pa.) — Took virtually the same team that won the PIAA Class AAA Tournament by an overtime goal a year ago, and improved them to a point where they won the championship final against the same team by four goals

Cheryl Capozzoli, Newport (Pa.) — Steered the Buffalos to their best record since 1989 and their first state tournament berth since 1990

Tiffany Cappellano, Oley (Pa.) Valley — Team went undefeated through the regular season and playoffs until the state final. During the final, the Lynx spotted the opposition a four-goal lead and were within 1:02 of making up that deficit.

Jill Cosse, North Caldwell West Essex (N.J.) — Built a balanced attack and gave confidence to a young defense and goalkeeper as the Knights won the Group II state championship and the Tournament of Champions in overtime

Janet Dickey, Westbrook (Conn.) — Guided the Knights to their first state championship appearance in 41 years

Kathryn Dolan, Andover Phillips Academy (Mass.) — Playing in a tough conference with extensive travel, won second consecutive NEPSAC Class A title in a penalty shootout

Katie Duke, Chesapeake Great Bridge (Va.) — Given a chance to play for a state championship thanks to the expansion of classifications, the Wildcats, a team from a lesser well-known area of Hampton Roads, made their way to the VHSL Class 4A state final, winning the championship in a penalty shootout

Jeanne Frevola, Clifton Park Shenendehowa (N.Y.) — Steered a talented team to an undefeated season in NYSPHSAA Class A

Jodi Byrd Hollamon, Delmar (Del.) — After five appearances in the final, the Wildcats brought home a championship to the small village of 1,600 on the Delaware/Maryland border

Nancy Millward, Webster Groves Nerinx Hall (Mo.) — Markers sent out veteran head coach with a season with a number of strong wins, including defeats of Lake Forest (Ill.) and St. Louis Villa Duchesne (Mo.)

Janina Perna, Cape May Court House Middle Township (N.J.) — Won first NJSIAA South Jersey Group I championship led by one of the school’s top athletes, who forms part of a great lacrosse attack

Derek Ryan, Leesburg Heritage (Va.) — Brought first-year Loudoun County team to the state championship semifinal round, but he also did a lot of work in petitioning to get the sport added at this and 13 other schools

Jessica Rose Shellenberger, Mount Joy Donegal (Pa.) — Coached the Indians to their first state championship in a very difficult bracket

Ian Tapsall, Westport Staples (Conn.) — Brought his international credentials to the school and, in his second year, built a defense which helped the Wreckers win the CIAC Class L co-championship

The recipient will be announced December 30.


No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: