Serving the scholastic field hockey and lacrosse community since 1998

Archive for September 7, 2017

Sept. 7, 2017 — The IWLCA states the obvious

The Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches’ Association is opening its own Hall of Fame with an inaugural six-woman class. Five of them are members of the U.S. Lacrosse National Hall of Fame.

The honorees are from recent history, given the fact that the collegiate game matured only after the inception of Title IX; the inaugural AIAW national championship wasn’t contested until 1981; the previous three years, a national collegiate championship was co-administered by U.S. Lacrosse and the AIAW.

Given the tremendous accomplishments of their teams, it is not any surprise that, amongst the first class, was 11-time Division III national champion coach Sharon Pfluger, and eight-time DIvision I champion Cindy Timchal. Both are a hair short of 500 victories and could very well breach the 500-win barrier within days of each other this coming spring.

Also part of the class is Missy Foote, the Middlebury head coach who not only won five championships, but who helped teach the U.S. women’s national team how to play a zone defense. Joining them were Marge Watson, who started the women’s lacrosse program at Ursinus College in the 1950s; Tina Sloan Green, who steered Temple to three national championships and who was the first African-American woman to coach a college team; and Carole Kleinfelder, who brought the molded-head stick to women’s lacrosse in the late 1980s, helping Harvard won the 1990 national title.

It’s a worthy first class which will be inducted in Florida later this year.