TopOfTheCircle.com

Serving the scholastic field hockey and lacrosse community since 1998

Oct. 21, 2017 — USA 2, Argentina 1

There they were, the red-clad insurgent USA indoor field hockey players, mobbing their goalie, Samantha Carlino, in the goalmouth of an indoor arena in Georgetown, Guyana.

And, true to form, Carlino would not let them into the goal cage. It was an extraordinary scene borne of an extraordinary circumstance, one which no United States women’s indoor team has ever achieved.

A decade and a half after losing a chance at the Indoor World Cup on home soil, and after considerable heartbreak thereafter, the Applebees beat Argentina today 2-1 in the gold-medal match of the Pan American Hockey Federation Indoor Championship.

It is the first time the States has ever won the tournament, and it is also the first time they have ever made the FIH Indoor Women’s World Cup.

The winning play came five minutes from the end when Mary Beth Barham knifed in to intercept an Argentina pass in the Albicelestes’ defensive right-wing corner. Barham, having nobody between herself and the Argentina goal cage, was fouled hard, and a penalty stroke was the result.

The U.S. dragflick specialist Ali Campbell stepped to the dot and, hearing a whistle, pegged the corner to tie the score. But the umpires made Campbell take the stroke again because the whistle came from the crowd.

The kerfuffle over the incident, which included a lengthy umpire conference, could have frozen a lesser player. Not Campbell, who scored to give the Americans the lead. It was her 19th goal of the tournament, which led all scorers.

Argentina, staring defeat in the eye, threw every resource short of Luciana Aymar at the American cage, pulling the goalkeeper at the 38-minute mark and earning a corner in the final 20 seconds. But the final shot went wide, sending the American traveling support into hysterics.

The Americans got on the board first through Katie Gerzabek, who, like Campbell, played at Maryland. Argentina leveled three minutes later off the stick of Emma Yanzi.

Advertisements

2 Comments»

  S.P. Derieux wrote @

a dragflick is not legal on a stroke

  Al Mattei wrote @

I didn’t say it was.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: