Serving the scholastic field hockey and lacrosse community since 1998

Dec. 8, 2017 — United States Coach of the Year, the nominees

The United States Coach of the Year Award is given to a head coach or co-head coaches who made a noticeable difference in the performance of a scholastic field hockey team in a particular season. The coaching performance is not limited to progress made in the year which the award is given.

Here are this year’s nominees:

Cheryl Capozzoli, Newport (Pa.): Led the team from the banks of the Juniata River to within a game of the Class AA state finals

Jackie Ciconte, Houston Kinkaid (Tex.): The former University of Maryland forward brought her passion and energy to the Deep South and guided Kinkaid to the Southwestern Preparatory Conference championship

Roxanne Courser, Lyndon Center Lyndon Institute (Vt.): In her 19th season, her team was able to win its first state title this season

Erin Creznic, North Hollywood Harvard-Westlake (Calif.): In her 15th season, might have had her best team, which went 20-0 and conceded just three goals all season

Jodi Byrd Hollamon, Delmar (Del.): Brought the small-town team with the big-time work ethic back to the state championship and won it for the second year in a succession

Kent Houser, Millerstown Greenwood (Pa.): After 35 years and more than 1,000 wins in three sports at the school, brought the field hockey team to its first state final and won it

Michelle Johnson, Winchester (Mass.): The Sachems beat both Watertown and Acton-Boxborough in the same season; in the former matchup, a 184-match unbeaten streak ended

Starr Karl, Chantilly Westfield (Va.): In her final season as a scholastic head coach, was able to coach her daughter and a determined group of seniors to a state championship

Stanley Phulpagar, Christian Academy of Louisville (Ky.): In his fourth year at the helm, the Centurions entered the Apple Tournament for the first time, and won it. The team then went on to win the KHSAA state final

Henry Reyes, Los Gatos (Calif.): The team went the entire season unscored-upon as its undefeated streak reached 90 matches

Julie Smith, Tabernacle Seneca (N.J.) — There have been expectations heaped on the newest of the Lenape Regional School District schools since its 2003 opening, but Smith guided the team to its first appearance in the state title game

Mary Werkheiser, Norfolk (Va.) Academy: Over the course of more than a decade, carefully built a program around tactics and a water-based artificial turf, one of only four such at a U.S. secondary school. In 2017, NA was undefeated and was, for the first time, ranked as the No. 1 team in Hampton Roads

The recipient will be announced December 29.


1 Comment»

  Joe O’Gorman wrote @

Al, could you please send me an email,
thanks, Joe

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: