Serving the scholastic field hockey and lacrosse community since 1998

Dec. 7, 2018 — United States Coach of the Year, the nominees

The United States Coach of the Year Award is given to a head coach or co-head coaches who made a noticeable difference in the performance of a scholastic field hockey team in a particular season. The coaching performance is not limited to progress made in the year which the award is given.

Here are this year’s nominees:

Caitlin Albert, Biddeford (Maine): Coached team to first state championship since 1990

Cheryl Capozzoli, Newport (Pa.): Two years ago, she led the Buffalos to their first state tournament appearance in decades. This year, the team made the Class A state final

Diane Chapman, Garden City (N.Y.): One of the all-time great coaches in New York public school history, she guided the Trojans to a state title win over Shrub Oak Lakeland (N.Y.), breaking their nearly decade-long grip on the Class B title

Jen Crook, Somerset-Berkley (Mass.): Won first state championship despite controversy over having a pair of males on the team, including one of her sons

Kathryn Dolan, Andover Phillips Academy (Mass.): Won third NEPSAC Class A title in the last four seasons with a 19-0 record

Danyle Heilig, Voorhees Eastern (N.J.): Coached her side to a 20th straight state championship which included wins over five state champions

Jodi Byrd Hollamon, Delmar (Del.): Guided an impressive side to a third straight state title with some help from a couple of eighth-graders

Shannon Horosky, Danbury Immaculate (Conn.): Coached team to first state championship

Mary O’Connor, Dennis-Yarmouth (Mass.): Team won first state championship since 1987

Sarah Pallino, Millburn (N.J.): In an area of the country dominated by long-time powerhouses, she was able to coach the Millers to their first sectional title in 36 years

Bri (Davies) Price, Hershey (Pa.): Has quietly improved the fortunes of a team in the midst of one of the most competitive areas in the country, then steered them through a difficult Class AAA state bracket to win school’s first state championship

Spencer Wagner, Aurora Regis Jesuit (Colo.): Piloted team to first state championship

The recipient will be announced December 28.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: