Serving the scholastic field hockey and lacrosse community since 1998

Archive for February 22, 2019

Feb. 22, 2019 — A couple of notable retirements

Late today, a pair of coaches who made unusual coaching history in their respective careers announced their retirements.

Brenda Beckwith, one of only a handful of coaches ever to have an undefeated and unscored-upon team when she guided Winslow (Maine) to the 1998 Maine Principals Association title, has left her position with the girls’ basketball team in order to follow her daughter at nearby Simmons College in Boston. She had long since given up her position on the field hockey sideline, where she had won four state titles between 1993 and 2000.

It was the 1998 title which saw the Black Raiders complete the season with a goalless draw and the rest of the season with clean sheets.

GA School State Year
0 Los Gatos CA 2017
0 Watertown MA 2014
0 Garden City NY 1998
0 Winslow ME 1998
0 Alexandria St. Stephen’s/St. Agnes VA 1995
0 Pocomoke MD 1993
0 Stowe VT 1983
0 Philadelphia Archbishop Wood PA 1973
0 Springfield (Delaware County) PA 1968

Also, Jaye Stuart, one of only three known field hockey coaches to have won state championships in more than one state, retired from Washington Shepaug Valley (Conn.) after four decades and two Connecticut public school titles. She had previously won a championship with Duxbury Harwood Union (Vt.) in 1979, her first year of coaching.

Stuart is in the same two-state category alongside Jodi Burd Hollamon, winner of a state title with Salisbury Parkside (Md.) and a four-time state champion with Delmar (Del.), and Daan Polders, who won state championships with Denver Colorado Academy (Colo.) and Malvern Villa Maria (Pa.).

The depth and knowledge of the American scholastic field hockey coaching corps has definitely taken a hit today. It has also lost some of its uniqueness.