Serving the scholastic field hockey and lacrosse community since 1998

Archive for July 2, 2019

July 2, 2019 — Region of the Year, 2019

The Region of the Year is awarded to a specific area of the country for its prowess in girls’ and women’s lacrosse at all levels. It could be a county, a sub-group of a state, or an entire state or commonwealth.

And it’s the latter that will receive an award this year. The Commonwealth of Massachusetts is an unusual choice for a lacrosse power, given the fact that its NCAA season begins in blizzard conditions and its scholastic season finishes up later than anyone else, in mid-June.

And yet, the state had perhaps the most talked-abound team throughout the course of late 2018 and the first five months of 2019. That team: Boston College.

B.C. had made an enormous splash in the NCAA Tournament two years ago when Kenzie Kent jumped onto the team after her ice hockey season ended, and almost pushed the Eagles to the championship.

Kent took a year off lacrosse last year to concentrate solely on ice hockey, then enrolled in graduate school in order to play a full women’s lacrosse season. The Eagles were pegged as a prohibitive favorite basically from the final whistle sounded on James Madison’s 16-15 win in 2018.

The Eagles didn’t do much to dispel their role as national title favorite, holding the No. 1 ranking for most of the season and making it into the national final for the third straight year, but lost to Maryland 12-10.

But B.C. wasn’t the only reason that Massachusetts is our Region of the Year. Indeed, in Division III, five colleges from the state — Tufts, Westfield State, Amherst, Endicott, and Springfield — made the field.

In addition, Massachusetts teams took the top three divisions — Onondaga, Seneca, and Oneida — at the U.S. Lacrosse National Schoolgirls Championship.

That was because of a number of outstanding teams that permeated the state in 2019, including Harvard Bromfield School, Longmeadow, Walpole, Foxboro, Hingham Notre Dame Academy, and Cohasset.

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts joins a list of past winners from this site:

2019: Massachusetts
2018: Florida
2017: Dallas, Tex.
2016: New York