Serving the scholastic field hockey and lacrosse community since 1998

Archive for July 29, 2019

July 29, 2019 — Bravely waging the good Fight

The WPLL Fight, a team which had posted an undefeated regular season thanks to all-star players such as Tewaaraton Trophy winners Taylor Cummings and Megan Taylor, had just taken a 12-9 lead in the championship final yesterday in the heat of the day at U.S. Lacrosse Headquarters in Sparks, Md.

But the WPLL Brave, the team that lost last year’s WPLL title match, had it all come together. Thanks to the Brave winning 14 of 17 draws in the second half, the team scored four consecutive goals to close out a 13-12 win.

Amanda Johansen, late of USC, had three of the four goals, the last of which came with about two minutes to go. Dempsey Arsenault of Boston College was named game MVP with a four-goal effort.

But as you might expect, it was the third member of the Brave’s midfield unit, Marie McCool, who was the key cog in the team’s comeback effort. McCool took almost all of the draws in the second term and gave the team more attack zone possessions.