Serving the scholastic field hockey and lacrosse community since 1998

Archive for December 6, 2019

Dec. 6, 2019 — United States Coach of the Year, the nominees

The United States Coach of the Year Award is given to a head coach or co-head coaches who made a noticeable difference in the performance of a scholastic field hockey team in a particular season. The coaching performance is not limited to progress made in the year which the award is given.

Here are this year’s nominees:

Erin Creznic, Los Angeles Harvard-Westlake (Calif.) — Winning has become a habit for the team the last three years, winning the Los Angeles Field Hockey Association title while remaining unbeaten

Adrienne DiSipio, Burlington (N.J.) Township — Township was very much a marginalized side for most of the last 30 years, but this year DiSipio completely changed the culture and brought the Falcons their first NJSIAA South Jersey sectional championship

Casey Eck, Easton (Pa.) — Red Rovers won their first PIAA Tournament game in 30 years, but lost a close match to the defending state champions in the quarterfinal round

Ali Good, Summit Oak Knoll (N.J.) — Took the Royals’ show on the road this year and swept two games at the National High School Invitational and also won at Mamaroneck (N.Y.) and Greenwich (Conn.) Academy

Danyle Heilig, Voorhees Eastern (N.J.) –Her Vikings not only won a 21st consecutive state championship, but had a schedule which included wins over multiple state champions

Jodi Hollamon, Delmar (Del.) — This young and extremely skilled side has its best days ahead of it, with several players in the lineup who started for the team while still in middle school

Stephanie Kearns, Newtown (Conn.) — With an offensive-minded lineup as well as ten seniors, the Nighthawks had an undefeated regular season

Lynn Mittler, St. Louis Mary Institute-Country Day School (Mo.) — Overcame two years’ worth of heartache in the Midwest Tournament final and finally beat St. Louis Villa Duchesne (Mo.) with a late goal

Stephanie Nykaza, Winnetka New Trier (Ill.) — Veteran coach had a number of major victories this year including gripping OT wins against Villanova Academy of Notre Dame de Namur (Pa.) and Lake Forest (Ill.), the latter of which clinched the state title

Gwen Smith, New Hope-Solebury (Pa.) — Took what had been a program which had averaged about three wins per season and transformed them into a skilled collective that shut out 22 consecutive opponents in 2019

Jen Sykes, Guilderland (N.Y.) — Coming over from Clifton Park Shenendehowa (N.Y.), she has given Guilderland immense confidence and the team has responded in kind. The team was the first to win its sectional and to win a state playoff match

Kim Underwood, West Lawn Wilson (Pa.) — Her vision 11 years ago of starting a youth field hockey league, then drawing players from it, paid off handsomely as a team with her twin daughters Reagan and Bryn won the PIAA Class AAA state championship

The recipient will be announced December 27.