Serving the scholastic field hockey and lacrosse community since 1998

Archive for January 14, 2020

Jan. 14, 2020 — Game of the Decade

Presentation11. Towson Notre Dame Prep 10, Owings Mills McDonogh (Md.) 8
May 11, 2018
IAAM Class “A” Final
This matchup is notable for a couple of reasons. One, U.S. Lacrosse opened Tierney Field in Sparks, Md. to the IAAM for this championship final. But the second was the fact that the result ended of one of the most legendary and fabled records in the game: the 198-game win streak on the part of McDonogh. For the better part of nine seasons, McDonogh had been as automatic as the sun rising in the East. Thanks to skillful wins on the center draw, control of the pace and rhythm of the game, and the play of outstanding individuals, the Eagles had won every game since an April 2009 defeat to Canandaigua (N.Y.) Academy, but Notre Dame Prep was unafraid, withstanding everything the Eagles could throw at them, and never trailed at any point during the game.