Serving the scholastic field hockey and lacrosse community since 1998

Archive for November 8, 2020

Nov. 8, 2020 — The first of 10 vs. the first of 2

This afternoon, the University of North Carolina beat Louisville 4-2 to win the ACC title. The two-time defending national champion Tar Heels therefore become the first team to stamp its ticket to the 2020-21 NCAA Division I field hockey tournament, as the ACC has one of 10 Automatic Qualifier berths.

Louisville, by its regular-season defeat of UNC and yesterday’s close loss, has staked a strong claim to one of the two at-large bids to next spring’s tournament.

It is, frankly, impossible to prophesy exactly what teams in the other nine Division I field hockey conferences have to do in order to get an at-large berth.

Most wags would likely reserve the two at-large bids for strong conferences like the ACC, Big Ten, and the Ivy League.

But that ain’t necessarily so, as the old song says.

Given the uncertainty regarding spring field hockey (do we have a single schedule yet?), anyone from coast to coast could win the at-large bids.

Hopefully the selection process will be fair and transparent. And produce a whale of a tournament.