Serving the scholastic field hockey and lacrosse community since 1998

Archive for June 4, 2021

June 4, 2021 — Field hockey: Region of the Year, 2020-21

The global pandemic affected a number of scholastic field hockey competitions across America. It forced the truncation of state tournaments in New Jersey and New York, forcing their teams to play only for sectional titles. Massachusetts players had two different sets of rules in the fall and the spring season. North Carolina’s public schools had two different state titleists — one for the fall, one for the spring.

And the most difficult aspect of the season was that there were almost no interconference games, much less interstate matchups.

One of the first states to try to make a go of it last fall was the state of Ohio. The Ohio High School Athletic Association issued a comprehensive series of protocols on July 22nd, less than three weeks after the resignation of Jerry Snodgrass as executive director.

Though a handful of schools opted out of fall play, the majority of teams kept on going, playing their usual schedules and arriving at Upper Arlington (Ohio) in early November for the state championship, won by Columbus Bishop Watterson (Ohio.)

The amazing thing is that, except for the loss of a handful of schools in larger cities, Ohio was able to get through its season without a major outbreak of COVID-19 reported.

That’s why we’ve chosen Ohio as our Region of the Year for the 2020-21 academic year.

The Buckeye State joins a range of other geographical locations selected in past years:

2020-21: State of Ohio
2019: Charlotte, N.C.
2018: PIAA District 3, Pa.
2017: Houston, Tex.
2016: Commonwealth of Virginia
2015: Summit, N.J.
2014: CIF Central Coast Section, Calif.
2013: VHSL North, Va.
2012: State of New Jersey
2011: Lancaster-Lebanon League, Pa.
2010: No award
2009: No award
2008: CIF San Diego Section, Calif.
2007: PIAA District 4, Pa.
2006: Winston-Salem, N.C.
2005: Louisville, Ky.
2004: Kent and Sussex County, Del.
2003: PIAA District 2, Pa.
2002: State of North Carolina
2001: Lancaster County, Pa.
2000: Cecil County, Md.
1999: PIAA District 3, Pa.
1998: State of Maryland
1997: CIF San Diego Section, Calif.
1996: Hunterdon and Warren County, N.J.