Serving the scholastic field hockey and lacrosse community since 1998

Archive for July 15, 2022

July 15, 2022 — Games of the Year, 2022

10. Glenelg (Md.) Country School 20, Brooklandville St. Paul’s (Md.) 7
April 27, 2022
Regular-season game

This game result, as well as the margin of victory, turned the conversation of who was the best team in the nation’s best conference, completely on its head. Oh, sure, it’s been open season on the IAAM Class “A” title since the win streak of Owings Mills McDonogh (Md.) was snapped, but there were at least five teams in the conversation this year. Glenelg’s runaway win was a statement win, though St. Paul’s would eventually win the title match two weeks later

9. Radnor Archbisop Carroll (Pa.) 10, Elverson Twin Valley (Pa.) 8
June 11, 2022
PIAA Class AA final

Archbishop Carroll, the defending Class AA champion, was able to win this year’s final, but not without a fight from finals debutant Twin Valley. The Raiders, having won the Class AA field hockey title last fall, were looking to become the first Berks County team to win a state lacrosse championship in either gender of lacrosse. But the team from the town of just 1,225 came up just a little short

8. New Canaan (Conn.) 12, Northport (N.Y.) 8
April 23, 2022
Gains for Brains Showcase

Northport came into the 2022 season with the nation’s longest winning streak, and were hoping to develop towards winning the state championship denied them because of the global pandemic in 2021. But New Canaan had other ideas. The Rams suffered a foul in the final minute of the first half which was a bookable offense. They took advantage and scored three goals on this one power play, turning the game completely around

7. Lakeville (Minn.) South 14, Rosemount (Minn.) 13, 2 OT
June 16, 2022
MSHSL semifinals

One year ago, Lakeville South was the state runner-up, and were looking to get past a Rosemount side which had a splendid run in the 2022 state tournament, including defeats of longtime powers Edina (Minn.) and Savage Prior Lake (Minn.). Rosemount built a six-goal lead midway through the second half, mainly because of a yellow card assessed to goalie Lindsay Wirfs. Rosemount scored three goals on the power play, and one more upon Wirfs’ re-entry into the contest. Lakeville South’s Lauren Sheets keyed a second-half comeback, scoring five goals in the game to achieve the tie, then Emily Moes won the game in extra time

6. Baltimore Bryn Mawr 17, Severn Archbishop Spalding (Md.) 10
April 29, 2022
Regular-season game

The Sixth Law states that, at the highest level of competition, you often see things that you never see before, including situations that require umpires to consult a rulebook. In this game, the Spalding coaching staff pointed out the officials that Bryn Mawr goalie J.J. Suriano wasn’t wearing thigh pads. Now, in the post Erin O’Neill era of women’s lacrosse goalies, most goalies at levels up and down the sport have dispatched with hip pads and shinguards, supremely confident that they can catch any opposing shot with the goalstick. However, National Federation rules do state that thigh pads are mandatory. Not having pads on hand, the Mawrtians opted to play the last 13 minutes with 12 outfielders and no goalie, and still won the game

5. Ridgewood (N.J.) 11, Summit Oak Knoll (N.J.) 10
April 30, 2022
Regular-season game

Three-time NJSIAA Tournament of Champions winner Oak Knoll took on the two-time T of C trophyholders from Ridgewood in what was seen as a likely precursor to the 2022 postseason. Oak Knoll held a 9-5 lead in the second half, but the Maroons, led by attacking midfielder Lindsey Devir, who had three goals and four assists, helped mount a comeback. Merrill Klein scored two late goals 11 seconds apart to turn a 10-9 deficit into the 11-10 victory

4. Darien (Conn.) 10, Victor (N.Y.) 9
April 9, 2022
Regular-season game

The roots of this game came from a meeting at last summer’s Girls High School Lacrosse National Championship. The two teams met in the final, with Darien winning 6-4 in a nationally televised game. Victor was able to get closer in this varsity contest, but it was still Darien goalie Shea Dolce playing an a key role in the outcome, stopping the necessary shots for the win

3. Weston (Mass.) 9, West Newbury Pentucket (Mass.) 8
June 15, 2022
MIAA Division 3 quarterfinal

Pentucket, a school whose field hockey team advanced to within one goal of making the state championship final, carried over that winning form to girls’ lacrosse. But it took a supreme effort by Weston’s Neta Leschly on a free-position goal in the final second of play to provide the final margin. Perhaps Weston was inspired by none other than two-time Tewaaraton Trophy-winner Charlotte North, who was in attendance at the game

2. North Branford (Conn.) 11, Tolland (Conn.) 10
May 31, 2022
CIAC Class S octofinal

Tolland held the lead in the final minute before sophomore Keana Criscuolo made a difference — a huge difference. She scored a pair of goals at the death — one with 22.7 seconds left, and the other with 0.7 seconds on the clock. Criscuolo and teammate Braeden LeBeau had four goals each

1. Lockport (Ill.) Township 20, New Lenox Lincoln-Way (Ill.) 19
May 11, 2022
Regular-season game

This was a battle of two tremendous scorers — Erika Ho of Lincoln-Way and Fran Frieri of Lockport — whose teams often have found themselves in the same bracket in the state tournament. This year, the Porters had won their first 19 games before traveling to Lincoln-Way for this late-season matchup. Lockport fell behind at the interval and were down as many as six goals before the Porters mounted a comeback. Freshman Gianna Frieri scored the game winner with four seconds left to end this game, which shows how much this era has become “The Score-O Era” in scholastic girls’ lacrosse