Serving the scholastic field hockey and lacrosse community since 1998

July 29, 2022 — Your national scoring champion

When Fran Frieri scored her 200th career goal in an Illinois High School Association sectional final against Lenox Lincoln-Way (Ill.), it was the last gasp for the Porters in an 18-14 loss. And it was her final appearance on a scholastic field, since, as we mentioned yesterday, she did not get a berth in this weekend’s Under Armour All-America girls’ lacrosse game.

But the 200-goal effort is a landmark effort not only for girls’ high school lacrosse, but in the realm of youth athletics. Here’s a rundown of the known records for U.S. scholastic field invasion team sports:

200Fran FrieriGirls’ lacrosseLockport (Ill.) Township2022
130Kassi GintherGirls’ soccerSummit Christian Academy (Mo.)2017
125Ryleigh HeckField hockeyVoorhees Eastern (N.J.)2021
110Krissy WendellGirls’ ice hockeyPark Center (Minn.)2000
109Jace ConleyBoys’ lacrosseOrchard Lake St. Mary’s (Mich.)2018
94David RussellBoys’ soccerWeatherly (Pa.)2002
94Ron RolstonBoys’ ice hockeyFlint Powers Catholic (Mich.)1984
Sources:, NFHS Record Book

Mind you, sports like ice hockey and soccer have had their elite school-age players weakened through pay-to-play clubs, but that in no way diminishes Frieri’s achievement.

For the second time, Frieri, the Notre Dame golden-domer, is your national scoring champion. Indeed, when you look at recent history, a number of players have been the No. 1 goal-scorer twice:

2022: Fran Frieri, Lockport (Ill.) Township, 200
2021: Fran Frieri, Lockport (Ill.) Township, 191
2020: No award because of global pandemic
2019: Brittany Sherrod, Versailles Woodford County (Ky.) 158
2018: Charlie Rudy, Novato (Calif.), 147
2017: Charlie Rudy, Novato (Calif.), 160
2016: Bridget Ruskey, Cape May Courthouse Middle Township (N.J.), 135
2015: Sophia Turchetta, Harvard Bromfield (Mass.), 158
2014: Sophia Turchetta, Harvard Bromfield (Mass.), 170
2013: Daniela McMahon, Saddle River Country Day School (N.J.), 143
2012: Emma Lazaroff, Lafayette Centaurus (Colo.), 143
2011: Alex Moore, Allentown (N.J.), 148
2010: Autumn MacMillin, Tecumseh (Mich.), 157
2009: Katie Ferris, Carthage (N.Y.), 138
2008: Courtney Miller, Chappaqua Horace Greeley (N.Y.) 125
2007: Mallori Selliger, Clarkstown (N.Y.) North, 88
2006: Shannon Smith, West Babylon (N.Y.) 129

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: