Serving the scholastic field hockey and lacrosse community since 1998

Archive for January 18, 2023

Jan. 18, 2023 — Two other scholastic coaches taking home hardware

This site has taken very seriously its duty in awarding the United States Coach of the Year award. It is an award which is very well respected; at least three state legislatures have recognized recipients of this honor. Your Founder presented another at a town council meeting in Pennsylvania, and another after photo opportunities in the three small towns that comprise the school district.

But there are other national field hockey Coach of the Year awards that we like to make note of.

Late last week, the National Federation of State High School Associations gave out a passel of Coach of the Year awards in various sports. The award period was for the 2021-22 academic year.

Each of the top 10 sports in terms of participation for both boys and girls had a Coach of the Year award. In addition, a cheer award and two awards for schools outside the Top 10 for participation were made.

One of the awards was for field hockey, and the coach selected was Terry Simonetti-Frost, the veteran coach of Worthington Thomas Worthington (Ohio). TW had, during the award period, had taken the Cardinals to the state final, only to lose 2-1 in overtime to Columbus Bishop Watterson (Ohio). But in the fall of 2022, Simonetti-Frost took all of her guile and a talented team back to the state final. Just like the previous season, these two rivals, located And in a touch of poetic justice, Worthington went into overtime again against Bishop Watterson, a school located just 3 1/2 miles away.

In a reversal of fate, it took a freshman, Sophia Borghese, to score the game-winner for TW.

Simonetti-Frost joins Christine (DeBow) Mitchell, the head coach of Leonardtown (Md.) as winners of major national field hockey Coach of the Year awards. Mitchell’s award was given out by USA Field Hockey, and is a coaching award which spans the gamut of coaching levels, from youth to the national team.

“I was shocked, humbled and honored to be chosen,” Mitchell tells Southern Maryland News. “When I got the email from USA Field Hockey I really was very surprised. It’s not an award for me as much as it is for all the coaches and parents and players in the area who have supported me so much.”

Mitchell was up against Adele Williams of Villanova Academy of Notre Dame de Namur; Jun Kentwell of the W.C. Eagles and the U.S. women’s indoor national team; Brett Clay of the Centercourt club program, and the recently-retired Karen Shelton of the University of North Carolina. That is a powerful series of candidates.

Much congratulations to both of these women who have changed lives through their love of field hockey.